i’m BACK!

It’s been more than two weeks since my last posting and the time I was off-line was fun and very educational. I attended a Wedding Photography Workshop in Manila two weeks ago which was conducted by an award winning wedding photographer Mr. Dino Lara at the One Workshop Gallery in Makati. Check out Dino Lara’s wedding maestro website here. The 4-day workshop was really a blast. My classmates were all hobbyists. Everyone had a great time with Dino. He taught everything about the craft as well as the business side of the wedding photo industry. All of the participants agreed that Wedding Photography is a multi-disciplinary art of documenting an event using a camera as a medium. You have to know how to shoot a product to be able to take photos of the rings and other details… You have to learn the ropes of a fashion and glamour photographer to be able to pose and capture the beauty of your bride and groom… You have to have the eye of a photojournalist to be able to capture the decisive moments that will tell the story of your couple’s wedding day… Being a wedding photographer is no joke… You can’t just tell your bride that you have to re-shoot her walk towards the altar co’z you have to change your flash batteries or your memory cards or the worst your setting was a bummer. That’s why Dino Lara is charging P80,000.00 for a wedding PHOTO ONLY coverage. Wheeeww!!! I wonder when can I charge that much… only God knows.

After spending so much for my workshop (equivalent to my starting package) including my airfare, accommodation etc., what I can say is….. it was worth every penny. I believe that to be able to deliver wonderful output in my craft I have to continue to learn, educate and know what successful masters are doing.

The only part which depressed me after studying the business side of my craft was when I found out that I’m charging too LOW for my ART. lol!

Anyways, I’ll be posting some photos that I took during the workshop. Dino Lara wanted us to simulate a wedding photo coverage from the details down to the wedding ceremony… Not to forget a Bride & Groom’s outdoor pictorial at the streets of San Lo Village.

We were required to submit 2 of our best photos of the workshop to be judged by Dino Lara and the winners will receive a special prize courtesy of Ross Capili of OWG. Here are some of my takes…

Here’s my shot of the wedding dress. To the right is an art work of Mr. Ross Capili which is priced at P50,000. Now that’s an ART! 🙂  

dinolara_001.jpg

My shot of the ring which was borrowed from my fellow married participants.

dinolara_002.jpg

We were required to take a photo of a shoes. The requirement is to use our own shoes and be able to take a shot of it anywhere in the premises in less than a minute. One more thing… we need to include the brand.

dinolara_003.jpg

This is one of my entry for the Workshop Photo Contest.   

dinolara_004.jpg

Another requirement was to take a shot during make-up that we won’t bother the make-up artist.

dinolara_005.jpg

Just like to capture how the make-up artist was so focus in attaching the ‘fake’ eyelashes without showing her face… Do I make sense here?…. 🙂

dinolara_006.jpg

One of my favorite shot during the make-up time. Rarely would you see both the bride and groom in a room and I just love the face of the bride in the foreground. I definitely submitted this photo for the workshop contest. 

dinolara_007.jpg

A portrait of the Bride.

dinolara_008.jpg

The Groom… I wonder what’s on his mind during this moment.

dinolara_009.jpg

Another portrait of the bride… Of course with her bouquet of flowers.

dinolara_010.jpg

I’ll upload more photos of the workshop very soon as well as my other escapades during my off-line moments. Cheers!

7 Responses to i’m BACK!

  1. raissa says:

    Oh wow I guess I didnt see close enough when Dino Lara posted pics from the workshop because I didnt see you LOL

    In time you can charge the same rate but hopefully its after I get married whenever that is LOL

    BTW, some very nice and generous people gave me a dslr for my birthday. still studying it. its just 1 week old LOL

  2. sexy bilay says:

    hey! please don’t increase yet!!!i still dont have a groom… nagtitirok pa.. hehehe..

  3. joeyreyna says:

    raissa: i’m still studying how much to adjust our wedding prices so i can call it a work of art… LOL.. good that your now starting to enjoy the world of photography. i will be glad if your very nice and generous people knew me… my birthday will be 3 months from now and a 16-35 2.8 L lens will be enough for a present LOL. my only advise on your new toy is to regularly use it. capture the beauty of life that we always take for granted. its so rewarding! btw, congrats!!! on your new toy. do shoot me an email in case you need help about your dslr i might be able to help you.

    sexy bilay ni alvin: your groom is always by your side 24/7…. he is secretly saving moolahhh so he can give you the dream wedding that you deserve. LOL

  4. jarem says:

    Im new to photography too and beginning to enjoy the wonderful world of photography. I browsed several sites (mostly foreign) in search of guides, techniques, proper composition, camera settings and modes and of course pictures.

    Im glad that those searches also leads me here, which makes me proud that one of our own (Joey Reyna), a Taclobanon and a Waray; may i say is at a level of WPPP photographers which are all world class photographers. Im also a frequent browser in Dino Lara’s site when my sister recommends me when her boss got married and his photographer was Dino. Also, several photography forums i joined links me to WPPP and to Dinos artworks. I recognize Joey in one photo of Dino with several other photographers way back March. I tried searching the net for Joey’s site but it wasnt working then, dunno why?

    Im hoping that Joey may also have a forum soon so that photo enthusiasts and hobbyist like me will have a new tambayan. (mahirap mag maintain ng site diba). hehe.
    Well, there are lots of hobbyist in Leyte and Samar. I have joined them in Flickr groups.

    BTW, im more into nature photography and loves mountainerring too to take a shot of views few people have reach.

    @raissa – how generous people are to you. Wish that on your next Bday they’ll give you a set of lenses. I have a camera but a semi dslr 24-120mm fixed lens F2.8 – F4.8/F16.

    @bilay – your name sounds familiar, how are you related to a friend of mine who is a mountaineer named Jay.

    Im hoping Joey will share me some of his time to teaching me. LOL (at sana alang bayad, kahit mag assist lang ako sa wedding) hehe. BTW, love your wedding photos especially with the use of lights and blurring the backgrounds.

    Whew! haba, sori Joey i dont mean to hijack your thread.

  5. joeyreyna says:

    hi jarem: thanks for dropping by my blog… and now i’m glad that you were able to check out na my website as you said after a long search… 🙂

    with regards to the forum thing… man! i think its really hard especially that im not web thinggy person. maybe a flickr group about tacloban will be a good start and eventually develop it into a forum once we get somebody who knows the intricate details of maintaining it.

    its a good thing that there are now new photographists locally… there have been plans though to revive the tacloban camera club but wer still waiting for the right time as it’s still in the drawing board.

    i do share what i know about photography as i also get my knowledge from few mentors in the industry. it’s really nice to have a camera club again so we can share what we learn and be able to develop more our photography skills.

    do send me an email so we can share contact details… or in case you see me do introduce yourself para naman kita magkiriglala…

  6. jarem says:

    Wow that’s GREAT and exciting, A Tacloban Camera club. There are lots of camera clubs now but most are in Manila. Most of which have grown and became pillars of Phil photography. One sample is the Image Perfect Camera club headed by Benjie Rivera. Now, they are one of the contributors on the Photography 101 weekly edition mag in Manila Bulletin together with well know photographers in the industry.

    That really helps new photography hobbyist like me especially with the entry of digital cameras without worrying of wasting films. Hopefully tacloban camera club be revive.

    I have friends and officemates who are in IT, I also do computer works (hardware and software) though Im an engineer working in a govt office but have a limited exposure on website devt and maintenance. Perhaps I or we can share our ideas, sa abot ng aming nalalaman. Most of the time kasi we are hooked with our PC, Me at office and at home.

    I’ll email you sometime Joey, thanks for your reply. BTW, ive seen you in the wedding of my niece last May 12 (Marc and Jeryl). Its the first time Ive seen technically professional photographers. Upay na gudla nag attend ako. hehe. You and Nelson are one great tandem. Im planning to introduce myself but intimidated by your hightech cameras and gears. hehe. Im really new to photography, and my camera is only 5 months old, though i used my P&S camera before that, and simply “Point and Shoot” and allow photoshop to take care everything. LOL.

  7. hiutopor says:

    Hello

    Very interesting information! Thanks!

    Bye

Leave a comment